A Quick Poll

anderson750

I'm working on it Rose
I would like to know how many people here have been active in land use beyond just sending in comments. How many members on this site have done any of the following:
  • Trail work
  • on the ground data gathering and documenting
  • meeting face to face with BLM officials
  • meeting face to face with county commissioners
  • joining an organization that is involved with land use (local club, U4WDA, USA-ALL, BRC)
  • becoming actively involved with an above organization
The reason I ask this, is that I have seen several comments from people that are pretty naive thinking. I am not an expert, but I have been involved enough to understand that after a change has happened, it is to late to do anything about it.

Within the last year, SUWA pushed for a WC (Wilderness Characteristic) designation of much of the San Rafael swell. The Price field office was taking this information that was provided to them under consideration. This in essence would have closed off most of the Swell.

Faced with this, a small group of people (about 6 of us) spent any spare time we had GPSing routes (full-size, atv & motorcycle) and documenting the presence of man made disturbances. In reality we were only able to cover about 50-60% of the area in question with the amount of man power available. We collected over 1500 waypoints and pictures to document our argument as to why this area did not have Wilderness Characteristics (WC) and provided this information to the BLM.

And in the end, a great deal of what we documented stayed open in the final RMP that just came out. If we would not have documented what we did, without a doubt, everyone would have lost a lot of area (full size routes, atv & single track trails) in the San Rafael.

The reason I make this illustration is for two reasons.