Best engine oil for 12 valve cummins

Zombie

Random Dead Guy
I've read so many articles and seen three different grades recommended by auto parts stores, and I've got a little bit of analysis paralysis going on. I figured, what better way to cut through the noise than to ask some guys who live close to where I live, and might have some real world experience with making a similar choice of oil.

The truck is a 98 12 valve X cab short bed. I don't tow anything these days, occasionally haul stuff, but mostly just drive the snot out of it. I don't think I'm an abusive driver, but I do love the sound of the turbo whistle, and I'm not exactly easy going either.
Engine wise, the truck has some timing, a modified hot side from Banks with the big head waste gate, banks intake manifold and fuel plate, and a 4"exhaust. As far as I know the delivery valves are stock, but there are several indicators that the injectors might be aftermarket (waiting to hear back from the original owner).

As I near my first oil change, I've realized I don't know what weight I should use for our climate, or what brand the cool kids run these days. So I figured, why not ask the RME brain trust? So, I'm asking.

1661810735705.png
Obligatory pic so maybe I'll end up in a spotted thread someday.

TRD270

Emptying Pockets Again
Supporting Member
Copied what the company I drove for used. Was OG Rotella don’t remember which one exactly but fairly certain 15-40 in summer 5-40 in the winter. Trucks had 300-800k on them so I assume they liked the oil

shortstraw8

Pretty sure cummins suggests valvoline premium blue 15w 40 for that motor but I think any decent 15-40 should do and really anything with higher zinc is better.

skippy

Pretend Fabricator
In every single one of my cummins trucks I have ran a full synthetic 15w40. Not really loyal to any brand as long as its full synthetic

ID Bronco