General Tech Body Work

Stephen

Who Dares Wins
I have zero (0) experience with body work, so I'm looking a for a little advice. On my Samurai the rear quarter panels have rusted away from the inner fenders. I would like to put in a patch to fix this. If I were to find another Samurai that had good rear quarters and inner fender, would it be best to cut out the rusty section and then replace with a corresponding good section? Should I only worry about cutting out an area roughly equivalent to the rusty section on the good vehicle, or should I over lap by a large degree? Or would it be best to just use new sheet metal for the whole thing?

Thank you.

OrvisKrawler

Captain Obvious
I wouldnt spend too much time on it, its a wheeler right? just cut out the rust replace it with the same part steel off the other sami weld it up and call it good, it will be a lot easier to weld it overlap than to do a butt weld, depends on how you want the finished product to look and how much if any filler you want to use as far as that goes

Stephen

Who Dares Wins
I wouldnt spend too much time on it, its a wheeler right? just cut out the rust replace it with the same part steel off the other sami weld it up and call it good, it will be a lot easier to weld it overlap than to do a butt weld, depends on how you want the finished product to look and how much if any filler you want to use as far as that goes

It is a wheeler, but also a DD and I generally like the vehicle, so I want it to look quality.

mbryson

.......a few dollars more
Supporting Member
It is a wheeler, but also a DD and I generally like the vehicle, so I want it to look quality.

The patches tend to rust easier due to overlapped metal and associated dampness collecting there. If you do patch like that, use the HELL out of seam sealer to seal the area after welding.