Broken axle in the middle of nowhere???

fishfinder462

I'm fairly new to the crawling scene and one question ive wondered the whole time is what you do if you cant limp away from it ie...broken axle, smashed differental and what not....Ive read alot on here on what to do for somewhat "minor" repairs but what about when the sh!t hits the fan and towing it isnt even really an option. Any help would be awsome.:confused: :confused: :ugh: :eek: :sick:

offroaddave

It's just one term!
Spare shafts if your worried.
Iv'e never heard of a smashed diff. :eek:
Would like to see what that looks like though. (As long as it was'nt mine).:D

"Is"towing always an option? There's some trails i could'nt imagine atleast a dually tow truck getting to.

notajeep

Just me
Towing as in an offical tow truck? That is way different than a strap attached to Meat's poo pipe.
Worst trail break I had was a pinion shaft sheared off in the middle of metal masher a few years back.
Sometimes it sucks, but a major trail break means a major trail wrench party. I had to pull both rear tires, shafts, rear driveshaft, third member, remove the pinion gear, trashed bearing parts, remove crushed rear aluminiuliinun blocks and put it all back togeather minus the pinion gear, and come all the way back to Moab in front wheel drive.
I think that 95% of time rigs are towable and or fixable, at least enough to get off the trail.
That would be 100% if it were not for the stupid jeeps and their steering boxes.
Dan

Meat_

Banned
You mean when something like this happens?

12Xpandoaxle.jpg

There are a few things you can do

dana35.jpg
dana35tree4.jpg

brentDSC04511.jpg

DSCN2270.jpg

dana35tree3.jpg

IMAG0055.JPG

With a cad front end you are pretty much screwed if you hurt the stub and don't have a replacement. With normal hubs you can take out the shaft and drive on it, but if you take out the shaft (stub) on a cad this tends to happen

fall%20trail%20ride%20111205%20004.jpg

Meat_

Banned