Bumper Air Tanks?

anvil

I'm just starting to build my rear bumper. Is there any reason not to seal it and use it for an air tank? There has to be some down side I haven't thought of. Would puncturing the bumper in an accident be dangerous? Will moisture buildup in the bumper? If you have a bumper air tank, do you use it and do you like it?

CJJ92yj

There's a reason pressure vessels need to be certified. Could be extremely dangerous in an accident. Say you have it filled to 100 PSI and someone in a little Metro rear-ends you as you are driving to the trail. And suppose that weld you thought was plenty strong in fact was not. Bye Bye Metro. Could have otherwise been a little fender bender.

I always assume the worse in these cases though because I work in a shop that builds pressure vessels. Ever seen a rectangular pressure vessel? Nope. If you have to do it, I would make it out of Seamless tubing at the very minimum. Then I would have all the welded joints 100% radiographed to ensure it's strength. Probably cheaper to just buy a small tank and mount it somewhere.

my $.02

Chad

DevinB

I like traffic lights
On the flip side, IMuneducatedO, 100psi in a tank isn't going to do crap if ruptured. You can hold 50 psi in a tire with your finger. The worst that's going to happen is when you're in a wreck and the bumper is ruptured, the air will escape through whatever hole in a couple seconds. You're not going to have a massive explosion or anything. If you're really worried and have a few bucks to spare, pick up a used air tank, fill that sucker up, and take it out and shoot it. Nothing special is going to happen.

:disclaimer: I could be totally wrong. I've been known to spout off absolute crap. Feel free to rip me a new one if I'm wrong.

bretto

Willytime