Leaky fork seal

Moabxjeeper

Hey all! I'm fairly new to RME, so allow me to introduce myself first. My name is Josh, currently have a '92 Cherokee for wheelin', a '92 F250 460 for towin', and now an 07 KX250F for ridin', which is where my question comes in.

I just bought this bike a couple weeks ago and took it out for my first ride. It runs great and everything, but last week I came home to an awesome puddle underneath one of my forks. Does anyone have a good recommendation as far as where I can take it to get the seals replaced? I got a quote for about $120 (for both forks) which didn't sound too bad, but does anyone have a better recommendation?

I considered doing this myself until I saw all the tools you need for it, none of which I have and I'm going out to Knolls on Saturday and would like it fixed before.

Thanks for your suggestions.

TRD270

Emptying Pockets Again
Supporting Member
I had mine done at South Valley Motorsports, saves you a little cash if you take the forks off and take them down there off the bike. No complaints, can't remember what I paid but never had a problem after the install

sixstringsteve

rockymountainatvmc sells the tools you need. Even with the economy shipping, you'll have the parts at your house within 2 days. It'll still be cheaper than $120 including the tools. If you like getting your hands dirty and learning, it's really not bad at all.

Check out this video:

[video=youtube;Y43k1qFVGW4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y43k1qFVGW4[/video]

thefirstzukman

Finding Utah
Supporting Member
I bought the tools to do my fork seals and it took me less than an hour to do them start to finish my first time. I had the last set of mine done and they leaked from the dealer and would never pay to have them done again. They are easy to do and worth doing them yourself.

anderson750

I'm working on it Rose