Newbie 350 swap 88 runner

88 Runner SAS

Saving Money For Parts
I'm new to this page, and to Utah. I just moved here from the tip of the mit Northern Michigan. I was wondering if anyone has done a 350 swap in their 80's toy or knows someone who has?
Should I buy the adapter for the stock five speed t-case, or go with a chevy one? In the future I plan on swapping in full size danas. The crank went in my four cylinder just after Jeep-Safari.
So I bought a 79'GMC Sierra with a 4" lift. And I just ordered 35" SSR's and 15x10 Hellcats and headers, and Flowmasters. I am almost done with the 350 for it which is a four bolt bored .030 over with flat top pistons and an R.V. cam. My girlfriend is a little upset because we got so I'd have a dailly driver until my 4-runner is done. I told her it will be a dailly driver, but I need to be able to run the trails too while I working on the 4-runner. Sorry about running on, but if anybody has any insight on the 350 swap I would appreciate it.

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
To help you out, I would have to ask what are your plans for the 'Runner? Is it going to be a Dedicated Rockcrawler, or more of a Daily Driver/'Crawler? Do you plan to add Double T-Cases?

I would say that if your doing a 350 swap, go with a GM Tranny, TH350-400 or even a 700r4 if you want that overdrive. Unless your a huge Manual fan; Autos are just easier to drive on the Rocks.

If you will eventually want Dual Cases (Which I would HIGHLY recommend), then keep your Toyota T-Case and get an adapter to the tranny. I understood that the Toy T-Cases would handle a SmallBlock w/o too much trouble, they're pretty beffy. That way you could have killer gearing with options (Single and Double low!!) with the Double T-Case AND it would be easier to drive in the nasty stuff with the auto. Any other questions??