TAXES Small business owners

sawtooth4x4

Totally Awesome
Man, this is the first year I actually made a profit. Well, until I started writing off all my expenses. I've been pouring over receipts, tax forms, and statements. What a pain in the butt.

Anyway, I've gotten it down to a fairly low painless amount after 14 hours of work.

What are you guys using to keep track of everything?

What tax software are you using?

Do you do your taxes yourself, or do you have a guy? ( I do my own (I have an accounting degree with a lot of tax knowledge)).

My main write off is my truck, home office, and equipment and tools for work. I got a better deduction by itemizing my truck instead of just writing off the miles. It saved me a lot, but I had to really dig through all my statements and receipts to save a couple $$.

It seems like engineering work, while decent pay, is harder to find big ticket items to write off.

I think I'm going to get one credit card and use it exclusively for my business. Its too much of a pain to have to go through cash receipts and my bank statements. I think I have maxed out the deductions on my truck now. I think I'll have to get a newer one this year.

zmotorsports

Hardcore Gearhead
Vendor
That is one thing I don't miss. This will be the first year for taxes where we don't have the business and I can't believe how much less stress I am under getting ready. Now it's just our W2's, bank statements and investments and we're done.