Thinking of Moab the 11th and 12th

airmanwilliams

My younger brother ships out to basic training in a couple weeks and so we are thinking of hitting Moab for the first time the 11th and 12th. Where are good camp spots? And since this is my daily driver I'm taking what are some mild trails? And I mean mild people, had this sidekick awhile but I never get out so I am still a newb. Don't say Main Street!

sixstringsteve

No offense, but you're not ready for Hell's Revenge. I would recommend Long Canyon, Kokopelli trail, Chicken Corners, and Tusher Tunnel. None of these really require much 4-lo but they're beautiful and you won't hurt your rig or yourself. It'd be worth buying the wells moab book and sticking to the easier trails for now.

If you've never been to moab in your life, the paved loop in island in the sky is gorgeous and well worth the time.

Also, exploring arches is fun. There's a mild dirt road leading out of the park. That could be a fun way to explore the backroads there.

Last edited:

comingdown

Did you find a roof rack that will hold your Nordic walking sticks cause i can't believe your gonna go wheeling...... :) you can borrow my moab book if you want. and please put that U sticker on coco's truck.

walking-for-life-page-image.jpg

this seems more your speed.

airmanwilliams

Did you find a roof rack that will hold your Nordic walking sticks cause i can't believe your gonna go wheeling...... :) you can borrow my moab book if you want. and please put that U sticker on coco's truck.

walking-for-life-page-image.jpg

this seems more your speed.

I have some walking sticks already in my roof rack glen thank you.

Spork

Tin Foil Hat Equipped
Meh this is more of a scouting trip for when I bring my wife and son down in a couple months. I'm not into wheeling a ton but more into just driving and taking in beautiful scenery.