Tire width question

1995zj

I'm addicted
So I just picked up my new 17x8.5" beadlocks. My question is regarding what tires to run...if I purchase new tires I was looking into the IROK Bias Ply 37x14x17 but my concern is the width. Is 14" too wide for an 8.5" beadlock? Personally I would think it should be fine and if anything, the extra width would just help out with not losing the inner bead....am I right? Or should I stick to 12.50's?

kake

Tire width

I asked a similar question last week about 12.50" wide tires on 8" rims. Everybody agreed that was fine. My concern as yours, was when is wide too wide? From what I read on other sites was that when you get too wide it may bow the tread outward causing it to wear quickly in the middle. Less contact with the road/rock means less traction. I think opinions differ from tire salesman to an avid rock crawler. My instinct says that would be a stretch. Guess I am a tire salesman.

I scored 5 BNIB allied monster beadlocks (forged ones) for $1250 shipped!

Last edited:

1995zj

I'm addicted
Yeah, I've been fine running 12.50" on 8" rims before so I wasn't too concered there...just the 14" wide is what made me start to wonder. My ZJ hardly see's any pavement, so I'm not too concerned about the middle wearing out faster, and when running them at ~6psi, I'm sure the contact patch will be equal.

BlackSheep

baaaaaaaaaad to the bone
Supporting Member
I asked a similar question last week about 12.50" wide tires on 8" rims. Everybody agreed that was fine. My concern as yours, was when is wide too wide? From what I read on other sites was that when you get too wide it may bow the tread outward causing it to wear quickly in the middle. Less contact with the road/rock means less traction. I think opinions differ from tire salesman to an avid rock crawler. My instinct says that would be a stretch. Guess I am a tire salesman.

I scored 5 BNIB allied monster beadlocks (forged ones) for $1250 shipped!