yz450 for a first dirt bike, good idea or bad?

cuban b

You're all WEAK SAUCE!
I'm selling a 4 wheeler and a guy is offering an 05 yz450 as a trade. I was planning to get a much milder bike since I have no dirt bike experience, but it seems like it might be a decent deal.

I'd like to hear the opinions of some people with actual experience.

thanks for the help

jeeper

I live my life 1 dumpster at a time
What kind of quad are you selling? If you are used to lots of power, going fast, and getting hurt then get the bike. Just take it real easy until you get comfortable.

Rot Box

Diesel and Dust
Supporting Member
The YZ is a good bike and compared to some of the other 450's out there it will be a very long lasting and reliable machine if you keep up on maintenance. As for the trade it just depends on the type of riding you want to do. If you have trails in mind it might take some work/money setting it up after all the YZ was designed for a motocross track. The suspension will bounce you around (depending on your weight) and the flywheel is light which won't let the motor lug very well in the technical sections. If you have AF canyon in mind you should consider a Steahly flywheel weight right off the bat then loosen up the adjustment on the forks and shock all the way. If it still bounces you around you'd want to send the forks and shock to an expert and have them re-valved/sprung (softened up). A desert tank (more fuel) would not be a bad idea either as the stock piece is only ~2 gallons. Above all you don't want to break the law so you'll need some form of spark arrested muffler. You can pick those up on Ebay or KSL from time to time along with desert tanks.