Car audio gurus!

ALF

SURE!?

Cody

Random Quote Generator
Supporting Member
sound quality is relative to the ear of the listener. How do those sound to YOU compared to the Rainbow or Focal?

I've been running the JBL GTI components for a few years and really like them.

Stick with what sounds good to you, and make sure to run really good amps, wiring, and sound deadening. An ok speaker can be made to sound good with the right tuning, placement, and power, and a really expensive speaker can sound like shit with poor tuning, placement, and power.

Last edited:

4Runner

i totally agree with cody. and its not hard to tune speakers with a good amp either. i love MTX if you have ever looked at them. i am all about MTX. i am very big into car audio. i have 2 15s and a component set in a 4runner and it REALLY loud:) it is all into your pocket and what you like
http://www.mtx.com/caraudio/products/speakers/separates.cfm
these are kinda expensive but i might be able to get them a little cheaper then that. pm me if you are interested

Cody

Random Quote Generator
Supporting Member
$229 for components isn't expensive. That's barely a starting off point if you're looking for SQ.

No offense, but I can't possibly fathom 2 15's in a 4 runner that sound good either. If you're into the DB drags, cool, and I respect the engineering involved in designing a box and a system around that (standing wavelength, 1/4 wavelength, port design, charging systems etc). But don't confuse SPL or 'loud' with SQ.

I ran 1200 watts to my gti 6.5" components, and 1000 watts to 2 10's in my Dodge running off of the JBL/Crown series amps. I think it sounded good.....and I miss that stereo :(

Really though, it all starts at your source. A deck with hi voltage non clipping outputs is key. Without that it's really hard (from my experience) to get a lot out of any high end speakers.

4Runner