Daily driver decisions

skippy

Pretend Fabricator
Its almost time for my wife to get a new daily driver so she doesnt have to keep driving the JK. We have narrowed it down to the Jeep Grand cherokee SRT8 or the Chevy Trailblazer SS. Both are 400 horse out of the box and both are good looking. Does anybody have any insight on either vehicle....

I am a sucker for an LS engine, what do you guys think?

TJDukit

I.Y.A.A.Y.A.S.
Nothing specific other than I've never driven a factory rig where I liked the way the power came on compared to an LS...but like you I'm a sucker for anything LS.

STAG

If it were me? I'd take the GC over the trailblazer. And although I have no experience of the SS trailblazer, other than losing to one at a stop-light race, I'd still take the SRT-8. I really didn't lose by "that much" to the SS.

but most of my decision comes from style alone. I love the pre 2014 GC's. (WK's?) I think they are the best looking Grand Cherokee out there, and with awesome comfortable interiors.

Last edited:

skeptic

Are you looking for the fastest one, or just an SUV with plenty of power? Given those two possibilities I'd go with the GC, but I'd also take a serious look at a Tahoe LTZ or Yukon Denali - those also come with ~400hp.

skippy

Pretend Fabricator
Not looking for fastest just something fun to drive, The tahoe and yukon are to big for me I would like to keep with the smaller SUV

rholbrook

Personally, I like the GC SRT8, always have but I would bet the SS gets better gas mileage and in the long run would not only be cheaper to own but to hop up as well.

skippy

Pretend Fabricator
Personally, I like the GC SRT8, always have but I would bet the SS gets better gas mileage and in the long run would not only be cheaper to own but to hop up as well.