Jeep Help needed Cherokee XJ with spun rod bearing

Homefryy

I have a 96 Cherokee with 162k miles on it. I have only owned it for 6 weeks. It developed an engine knock about a week ago. I stopped driving it as soon as the knock started and trailered it home. I ended up dropping the oil pan and discovering that the connecting rod bearing for cylinder #4 was shot. I pulled the remaining scraps of bearing off and the crank journal is pretty rough. My understanding is that I will need to remove the crank and have it machined and I have a few questions about this I am hoping I can get some help with.

Everything else in the engine looks pretty good as far as I can tell but I am not an expert on engine internals. Should I just get the crank machined and replace the bearings or have somebody do a complete engine overhaul/rebuild? The other option would be to swap in a junkyard or re-manufactured engine. I would like to save as much money as possible (trying to save for a lift) but having a reliable vehicle that I can take on long road trips and adventures into remote areas is important. I am willing to spend the money necessary to achieve that. I can pull the crank and or engine myself to take to a shop or swap out.

Does anybody know of any good engine machine shops in the Salt Lake area that you can recommend?

Should I be looking for something that could have caused the bearing to go out like oil flow? The Jeep has the basic gauges with idiot lights so I don't know what oil pressure was before or after the knock started. The engine had fresh oil when I bought it roughly 1,000 miles ago and didn't use any in that time. The Jeep did overheat once approximately 300 miles before the knock started. Not sure if that could have caused it or been related or not.

Anything other advice or things I should consider?

Here is a picture of the journal on the crank.
20170707_193518.jpg

Here is a picture of the bearing fragments.
20170707_193610.jpg

Last edited:

mbryson