How much Bike?

Cascadia

Undecided
How much bike is too much bike? It will be my second and I still do not have a ton of riding time but I feel comfortable with the level I am at. I'm selling my KTM 250 EXC. Thinking about a Honda crf 250x, ktm 300 exc or a KTM 450 EXC. I will be riding mostly in AF Canyon, Moab, and a little in St. George. It will see very little time at the dunes. I am also wanting to make it street legal to get to and from a few trails. Do any of these bikes sound out of line for what I will use it for? Too powerful? Not powerful enough? Not the right model? I'm still new to bikes so I'll listen to any opinion.

Greg

I run a tight ship... wreck
Admin
IMO, if you're doing any desert riding with faster speeds, a 450 is needed. Otherwise, the CRF250x would be a killer trail bike.

I had a WR250F and it was WAY nimble, but ran out of steam in the open desert.

STAG

I'll be getting the Honda 230F because I'm so short and so the frame and everything just fits me and has a really predictable powerband. But it's kinda hard to say what is perfect, for the dunes a 250 4stroke is really a bare minimum.

Also, years are a big part of the equation too. KC's stock '06 ktm 250 makes a whole lot more power than his 2011 KTM 250 with an Akropovic exhaust system. But the difference there is rideability. His 2011 is fuel injected and has a lot smoother powerband and a helluva lot better suspension.

pELYgroso

'Merica
If I could go pick any bike it would be the KTM 300 XCW-e. 2 stroke trail bike w/ a wide range tranny, electric start, pre-wired for enduro lights, and all the power you could ever need on any trail while remaining very usable in the low-end. 120 mph top speed with ability to putt along a gnarly trail! Probably as much power as a 450 4 stroke but 2 stroke reliability.....makes me drool! review link: http://www.motorcycle.com/manufacturer/ktm/2010-ktm-300-xcw-review-89083.html