How to shrink the size of an AVI movie?

Brad J

I am new to the torrent thing & just downloaded one of the all time best movies ever ( http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0081353/ ) and want to watch it with the kids on the big screen. The problem is the AVI of it is 789 MB. I use Nero (NeroVision Express 2) to make a VCD (Video CD) but it only works if its smaller than 700 MB. Funny thing is when using the VCD mode it shows the movie as 965 MB so it won't work. When trying as a DVD-Video it shows the same AVI as 5.26 GB so it won't fit on a standard DVD. So is the a way to get it to work? I don't mind burning it to a DVD or CD, CD's are cheaper though:)

Thanks, Brad

Caleb

You have to re-encode it. There really is no "simple" way to do it. Check in Nero, there should be a setting to fit it on a Single Layer DVD. It'll re-encode it as it rips it to fit on a standard 4.7GB disc.

muleskinner

Hey Caleb, what was that program you mentioned a few years ago for shrinking movies? It seemed like you could take them to whatever size you specified. (before your Mac days)

Caleb

Hey Caleb, what was that program you mentioned a few years ago for shrinking movies? It seemed like you could take them to whatever size you specified. (before your Mac days)
hmmm, I'll have to think about that one. It's on the tip of my tongue but I can't remember. I know you can specify size in Handbrake, and Handbrake can now handle most formats as inputs and outputs. (Handbrake is available on all major OSes too, Linux, Windows, and OS X)

Caleb

Just remembered it, FairUse Wizard. I have no idea how it's progressed over the years though.

Brad J

You have to re-encode it. There really is no "simple" way to do it. Check in Nero, there should be a setting to fit it on a Single Layer DVD. It'll re-encode it as it rips it to fit on a standard 4.7GB disc.