I need tech support

Tonkaman

I’ll start this with a disclaimer that I am not tech savvy at all, thats the wife’s department. I know things are really screwed up when she is asking me to help figure it out!

The problem started 2 days ago when the Xfinity went out. When the internet service came back, all the devices in the house re-connected to Wi-Fi except one laptop. This one laptop does not see our network in the available list. However the laptop does see a dozen other networks from our hotspots, or neighbors Wi-Fi. I’m trying to understand why this one device (laptop) is having trouble. It can connect to our hotspot just fine, and seems to otherwise be behaving normal.

Is it a Wi-Fi problem or a laptop problem?

The modem/router is an Xfinity Gateway
The laptop is an ancient PC Laptops Dominator running windows 10 pro.

mbryson

.......a few dollars more
Supporting Member
I'd start with the laptop as the other devices are good to go. You probably just need to a) restart the computer, b) update the wifi driver c) delete the "wifi network" (SSID -- look up "forget this network" on the google) or d) take it to your friends at PC Laptops and have them fix it for you with their lifetime warranty

Last edited:

Tonkaman

Also, there seems to be “hidden network” but we can’t get it to connect to that either. She tried to enter the SSID from our router, but it don’t work.

Not sure what any of that means, but I figured it’s important 🤷‍♂️

Tonkaman

You probably just need to a) restart the computer, b) update the wifi driver c) delete the "wifi network" (SSID -- look up "forget this network" on the google) or d) take it to your friends at PC Laptops and have them fix it for you with their lifetime warranty

Thanks for the quick reply

A- done
B- all options show up to date
C- it can’t forget our network because it doesn’t show in the list. Also the hidden network can’t be forgotten because we can’t connect to it.