jd2 bender q's about " the start of the bend"

y-jake

i read the pirate 4x4 bending 101 thing and it says to find the start of the bend. the start of their bend was 5.5" from the center when laid against a square. i have a 6.5" radius die (1.75" tube) and i wanted to know what you guys found as the start. it looks like it is around 8" but is hard to tell

thanks for your help
jake

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
Have you bent up a 90* yet? Start there, use a Square to verify the angle. Once you have the 90*, feel the inside of the tube. You'll be able to feel where the tube bends in... this point (and the opposite one) is the start & end of the bend.

Mark that spot all the way around the tube with a permanant marker, then hold the 90* inside the square. Your marks should both be @ 6.5"! I have a 1 5/8" x 6.5" die and my 90*'s are exactally 6.5" radius.

Welcome to the world of Tube! I'm just getting started too... big projects ahead! ;)

N-Smooth

Smooth Gang Founding Member
we tried to feel it and look for it, but it is not that visible. it is so freaking hard to tell when it is a 90. we were holding the square over it and trying to eye it.. it sucks. i think the start of the bend isn't as obvious because we took it out of the bender and put it back in.
how do you ever tell if it is a 90 or not?
it really looked more like 8" but hell i don't know.
both of our attempted 90s are off... one just a few degrees under 90 and the other just over!!!
pita!

so the 6.5" radius will have a 6.5" start?

thanks for replying greg

James K

NO, I'm always like this
xj_punk said:
we tried to feel it and look for it, but it is not that visible. it is so freaking hard to tell when it is a 90. we were holding the square over it and trying to eye it.. it sucks. i think the start of the bend isn't as obvious because we took it out of the bender and put it back in.
how do you ever tell if it is a 90 or not?
it really looked more like 8" but hell i don't know.