Junkyard LS swap

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
Often you hear about how cheap a LS swap is... I thought this would be worth putting together and adding up the costs, for the sake of sharing on here. There are a LOT of options and the total cost really depends on what you want in the end, how far into the engine you go, what it's going into and what you start out with. I've done a handful of LS swaps at this point, but I'm far from an expert. If you see anything I missed, feel free to mention it!

My plan is to swap a stock 5.3 into the 1967 Pontiac Bonneville, so that will be my example for this thread. The vehicle really doesn't matter, but it may make a difference in cost at the end of the day.

For this specific build, I'm going to try to keep it cheap and track the needed parts and costs. I'm starting with a 2002 Gen III 5.3 LM7 with 130k miles on it. These are probably the most common LS truck engines, Iron block, aluminum cathedral port heads, factory roller cam, truck intake, etc. A 4.8 (LR4) is similar and should be priced a bit less due to the displacement, but they do have a flat-top piston for higher compression, making the HP & TQ loss pretty minimal. Both of these small truck engines are pretty prevalent, but nearing 20 years old they may be hard to find with low-ish miles. It's best for cost if you can find a good running engine that you don't need to tear down, rebuild, etc. Even minor upgrades can add up fast, cam shaft upgrades are nice and you'll see big gains, but not cheap.