Work work work. Anyone else live to work?

Rot Box

Diesel and Dust
Supporting Member
As of today I've worked at my job for ten years and that has given me a lot to think about. I feel pretty accomplished however in recent history I've had 5 days off since mid June and my head is about to spin off :chris: I LOVE my profession and it has been very good to me and my family so don't take this the wrong way but the forecast is saying 7 day weeks with no end in sight... Doh. In two years I'll but up to 4 weeks of vacation and I'm thinking about taking it back to back and spending it in Alaska. Yeah, that would be a nice.

Anyone else work a lot? What do you do to remain mostly sane?

Last edited:

Cascadia

Undecided
I feel like that all I do these days. I frame and build homes for a living. The plan was to have enough work to keep guys busy which would give me the chance to find more work and more guys. It has backfired on me. I can't find enough guys that can be trusted to do homes without me there. So I am there all day everyday, and a lot of Saturdays. It is my own company so I can take off when I want but it leaves me feeling like nothing is getting done and that I have to fix everything when I get back.

To stay sane I play with my boy when I get home, try and ride my bike when I can, look for new hobbies I won't have time for, and enjoy every minute with my family. I also look for more employees and work when I'm not working. So basically I work.

muleskinner

Yep, 70-90 hours a week, most weekends included. I was out here last night until midnight, then back out at 6 AM this morning. Still here. I like my job, but the 45 mile drive each way can get old sometimes. I'm going to head home and work on the crawler for a while until I have to come back out later this afternoon.

I usually stop and shoot something once or twice a week to keep my sanity:D

gijohn40

too poor to wheel... :(