General Tech Wrangler Rubicon stock slider extension

frieed

Jeepless in Draper
Supporting Member
I have been wanting to do this for some time now. The stock sliders on my Rubicon are much to close to the body for comfort so I extended them with some 1x2 1/8" wall tube in a fashion similar to the Mopar "Enhanced" rails. I also lopped an inch off the back in preparation for 35's some day.

Mopar Enhanced Rock Rails
75749-lg.jpg

Man what a pain in the butt.
I knew that the stock sliders weren't round or square, but what I didn't realize was that they also curved along their entire length.
I did one run with the tube vertical but didn't like the look so I re-fabbed them with the 1x2 flat. It's not super beefy, but it's as stout as the OEM body mounts that I reinforced in the same manner as the enhanced OEM slider. I studied ways to attach to the frame but that meant the body mounts would need to be cut off. If I were going to go to that much effort, I'd just junk the originals and start fresh. I'll run these modified ones for a while and may junk them after all.

After much cutting, re-cutting, grinding and fitting I finally got it all fit and welded up. A can of Rustoleum bed liner spray and presto..

My new addition
Funny how the curved stock rail makes the 1x2 look curved as well
IMG_0624.JPG

The attempt to beef up the stock mounts
The Mopar version has a piece of angle added here, I added this diagonal
IMG_0620.JPG

Installed
IMG_0621.JPG

p.s. Anyone have a recommendation for someone to sharpen a carbide tipped blade? My evolution was struggling toward the end.

Last edited:

frieed

Jeepless in Draper
Supporting Member
Thanks guys, now it's time to go knock some paint off..

This project also settled the question I've had lately about whether or not to get some flux core wire.