Is Sirius worth the subscription?

Skylinerider

Wandering the desert
Is it worth the subscription for Sirius? My JK is capable of it, and I'm thinking of doing a subscription. Pros/cons, how's the reception? I'm new to the world of satellite radio.

moab_cj5

Supporting Member
I had it for a while. It is nice to have if you travel a lot, but I decided I could do without. Personal preference really.
Reception should be fine as long as you aren't in a covered area. It needs a direct view of the sky.

rholbrook

As stated, its nice for when you are on a road trip by yourself. If I have the family, DVDs are always playing through the stereo. I always renew when I can get it for $60/year and then I cancel just prior to my year being up and the fee raising to normal pricing. I have had to wait up to 6 months before to get it cheap again and to me, its only worth it if I can get it cheap.

Rot Box

Diesel and Dust
I like Sirius for the most part. The music is a little repetitive and I could gripe about the 90's alternative being too broad but overall I'd say even with the $70 fee it's much better than local FM if you drive a lot.. Local FM around my neck of the woods is pathetic.. free I know.. but pathetic just the same.

I replaced Sirius with Pandora (which I really enjoy) but reception is very limited in comparison. Keep your eyes open sometimes they will do promotions for half price unless things have changed.. it's been years since I had it.

Kevin B.

Not often wrong. Never quite right.
Josh had his going last weekend, and it reminded me how much I hate listening to what some bureaucratic hive mind thinks I should listen to - Pandora gives me a little more control over what I listen to, and I've got enough MP3s loaded on my phone to get me by when I leave cell range. One of these days I'll join the 21st century and get a stereo that can read a USB stick, and then I won't need Pandora either, but for now I like it better than satellite or local radio.

TRD270